Fancy Toast !

Let’s talk about toast!

                        img_2184

Why? I was recently given as toaster and back in January I had some of the best toast for breakfast at this little hipster café in San Francisco. It was amazing and I think about it all the time.

This cafe had three pieces of toast on the menu and figured I has to try it. One of the pieces of toast was toasted to perfection, covered in avocado and then the most delicious bacon was placed on top. Another one had a mystery sauce, fresh sliced tomato and basil. The last had a fried egg, salsa and cilantro on top. This was so simple yet unforgettable.

I have seen this kinds of recipes on Pinterest before but never took the time to try them and way underestimated the flavor they had! Now, with my new toaster I have been making up all kinds of fancy toasts for myself.

I love that toast has been the ultimate side dish and now it is stealing the show!

Fun fact: Toast is ancient and early civilization used to brown bread. The Romans got the idea from the Egyptians in 500 BC!! So, toast is really old and I think it is in need of some sprucing up!

Below are some“fancy” toast recipes to try!!

  • 1) Hard Boiled Egg!

Step 1: toast the toast. Step 2: Spread some mayo on it. Step 3: slice the up a hard boiled egg and place it on the toast. Step 4: drizzle the toast with olive oil (I use basil infused olive oil). This is extremely simple and I eat it all the time. In fact this is my go to because I always have hard boiled eggs on hand. They make for a healthy snack!!

img_2183

  • 2) Goat Cheese!

Step 1: put some goat cheese on the toast (yummy, try it). Step 2: Put some kinds of fruit on it. Melon is the best to me and then drizzle with agave!

  • 3) Classic!

Step 1: spread some peanut butter on that toast. Side note: We have to buy this in bulk because we eat so much of it and we are a two person house hold. It is ridiculous!  Step 2: slice up some banana and put it on the peanut butter. If you would like add some chia seeds and ta dah you are done!

  • 4) Tropical!

Step 1: add some cottage cheese to the toast. Step 2: add pineapple slices. Step 3: add cashews. Now enjoy !

I hope this post has helped you re think about toast. The little café change the toast game for me and I am enjoying every bit of it! I really love simple delicious food and there are endless possibilities with toast. The flavor combinations can get wild!

I plan to incorporate flavored balsamic and more infused olive oils when I make my fancy toast. My family grows olives in northern California and I am always looking for new ways to enjoy olive/olive oil. My family gets pretty bored and so I will look for ways to spice things up!

I find toast inspiration all over the place. Pinterest, buzz feed, Facebook (those tasty videos) and many other places on the internet!   Enjoy trying these easy recipes and enjoy toast!

“Toaster.” How Products Are Made. N.p., n.d. Web. 24 Feb. 2017.

Leave a Reply

